How do I clean the washing bag?
June 1, 2018
What can I use the Guppyfriend Detergent for?
June 16, 2018

Who tested the bag and what are the results?

WHO TESTED THE BAG?

The bag was tested for a period of three years by scientific institutes, universities, representatives of the outdoor- and fashion industry and retailers. These tests serve as a basis for offering the Guppyfriend Washing Bag to their clients as a temporary solution for micro plastic pollution. Mainly, we have tested the Washing Bag with the following scientific and independent institutes:

  • German Textile Research Institute, DTNW
  • Fraunhofer Institut UMSICHT
  • University of California in Santa Barbara as part of a Patagonia research program

WHAT ARE THE RESULTS

The Guppyfriend washing bag reduces fiber loss during washing in two ways:

  1. The Guppyfriend Washing Bag reduces the amount of breaking fibers significantly. The Fraunhofer Institute UMSICHT has confirmed an average amount of a) 79% for partly synthetic clothes, b) 86% from completely synthetic textiles. The lifetime of the apparel is extended.
  2. Fibrous residues and lints caused by washing are retained by the Guppyfriend and therefore do not pollute the waste water. The determined fiber retention capacity in all test was above 90%, -mostly close to 100%. Nanoparticles, like production residues, often found on cheaper textiles can not be hold back by the Guppyfriend Washing Bag.

FURTHER TEST RESULTS

  • No toxic additives or harmful substances where found on the product.
  • Even after 50 washing cycles the bag and all seams are intact (ISO 6330). The bag itself does not lose any synthetic fibers (the Guppyfriend Washing Bag can be used for more than the tested 50 washing cycles when applied correctly)
  • Cleanliness after washing: blood, ketchup and chocolate could be washed out properly, the washing degree towards skin fat and clay is sufficient.
  • The amount of fibers that are found in the bag depends on washing conditions and clothing itself

TO SUM UP

The Guppyfriend reduces the fibers breaking significantly, those fibers that do break are hold back reliably, the clothes get clean and -if correctly applied- the Guppyfriend keeps harmful microplastic from entering our rivers and oceans for a long time.

To the test 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Wie reinige ich den Waschbeutel?
Juni 1, 2018
Wofür empfehlt ihr das Guppyfriend Waschmittel?
Juni 16, 2018

Wer hat den Guppyfriend Waschbeutel getestet und wie sind die Ergebnisse?

WER HAT GETESTET?

Der Guppyfriend Waschbeutel wurde über einen Zeitraum von drei Jahren von wissenschaftlichen Instituten, Universitäten, Vertretern der Outdoor- und Textilindustrie, sowie Retailern getestet. Diese Tests dienen als Grundlage, um den Guppyfriend Waschbeutel ihren Kunden als temporäre Lösung gegen Mikroplastikverschmutzung anzubieten. Wir haben insbesondere mit folgenden wissenschaftlich und unabhängigen Instituten getestet:

  • Deutsches Textilforschungszentrum Nord-West, DTNW
  • Fraunhofer Institut UMSICHT
  • University of California in Santa Barbara als Teil des Patagonia Forschungsprogramms

WIE SIND DIE ERGEBNISSE?

Der Guppyfriend verhindert den Faserverlust beim Waschen auf zwei Wege:

  1. Der Guppyfriend Waschbeutel reduziert die Anzahl der abgebrochenen Fasern drastisch. Tests des Fraunhofer Institut UMSICHT ergaben im Durchschnitt: a) 79% bei teil-synthetischer Kleidung b) 86% bei komplett synthetischer Kleidung. Die Kleidung ist also wesentlich länger tragbar.
  2. Plastikpartikel, die beim Waschen verursacht werden, werden im Beutel festgehalten und verschmutzen somit nicht das Abwasser. Die Fasern wurden in allen Tests zu über 90 % – in den meisten Fällen 100% – zurückgehalten. Nanopartikel, meist Rückstände aus der Produktion, die insbesondere auf billigen Textilien zu finden sind, kann der Waschbeutel nicht zurückhalten.

WEITERE TESTERGEBNISSE

  • Es wurden keine toxischen Rückstände auf dem Produkt gefunden.
  • Die Beutel halten 50 Haushaltswäschen nach ISO 6330 ohne Beschädigung aus und gibt selber keine Plastikpartikel ins Wasser ab (Anmerkung: bei richtiger Nutzung ist der Guppyfriend auch über die getestete Anzahl von 50 Wäschen nutzbar).
  • Sauberkeit nach dem Waschen: Blut, Ketchup und Schokolade werden ohne Probleme ausgewaschen. Die Waschwirkung bei Hautfett und Tonerde ist ausreichend.
  • Die Anzahl der abgebrochenen Fasern ist abhängig von den Waschkonditionen und der Kleidung selbst.

ZUSAMMENGEFASST

Der Guppyfriend Waschbeutel reduziert den Faserabbruch signifikant. Die Fasern, die während des Waschens abbrechen, werden im Beutel zurückgehalten. Die Kleidung wird sauber und – bei richtiger Anwendung des Waschbeutels – ist er lange einsetzbar, um Mikroplastikplastik aus unseren Flüsse und Meere fernzuhalten.

Hier geht’s zum Test.

 

 

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.